Data Security and Protection Steering Committee

Type of Committee: Main Committees

Subcommittee Type: Orientation / Coordination

Committee's Aim / Responsibilities: Committee is responsible for ensuring that data owned by Garanti BBVA, its subsidiaries and its customers are compliant with the relevant legal regulations and corporate policies.

The Committee’s responsibilities are;

  • To determine the policies that are within the scope of data security and protection, to review these policies periodically and to update them if needed,
  • To prioritize the projects which are in the context of data security and protection,
  • To monitor the efficiency of the processes operated in the scope of data security and to evaluate the improvement needs,
  • To monitor the legislative changes that are in the scope of data security and to ensure that the needs are met and changes are implemented within the bank.

The competence and coordination of the studies prepared for the protection of personal data, policies, procedures, etc. evaluates together with the documentation studies.

While preparing the studies, it monitors the efficiency and functionality of the working environment and ensures that the necessary actions are taken to improve the working environment.

Regarding Data Security and Data Protection:

  • To follow the training activities to increase awareness and to find the necessary directions,
  • To make guiding evaluations about important legislative changes,
  • To evaluate the prioritization criteria in the studies carried out.

Committee History: Established on March 2019.

Meeting Frequency: The Committee meets once in 4 months.

Number of Meetings (2022): 3 (As of November 2022)

Committee Members 

Committee Members Committee Members' Titles Responsibilities
İlker Kuruöz Engineering & Data EVP Member
Aydın Düren Independent Board Member Member
Tuba Köseoğlu Okçu Talent & Culture EVP Member
Ferda Özge TC - Infrastructure & Communication Unit Manager Member
Özgür Tüzemen TC - Data & Advanced Analytic Unit Manager Member
Feridun Aktaş TC - Corporate Security Unit Manager Member
Osman B. Turgut Director of Internal Audit Participant Member
Emre Özbek Compliance Director Member
Denel Şehriban Kırali Legal Advisory Services - Legal Counsel Member
Beyza Yapıcı Internal Capital and Operational Risk Department Director Member
Tolga Haliler Organization & Process Development Director Member
Korcan Demircioğlu Customer Security & Trans. Risk Management Director Member
Barış Gülcan Internal Control Director Member
Emre Poyraz TC - Data Governance Unit Manager Member
Cihan Subaşı Corporate Information Security Responsible Member
Canfeda Karabulut Corporate Information Security Manager Member/Secretary
Kerem Güngör Personal Data Protection Responsible Member/Secretary